The Smile (Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood & Tom Skinner)

1re partie : Robert Stillman

Location Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Prices 65€/50€/42€/30€
Duration About 2h30

Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood, the two main members of Radiohead, are presenting their new project The Smile alongside rebellious drummer Tom Skinner, a major figure in the effervescent London jazz scene. 

Radiohead came onto the scene in England at the start of the 1990s, and their experimental rock style with electronic and jazz influences firmly established them as part of the contemporary music landscape. Its two figureheads, Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar, piano) and Jonny Greenwood (guitar, synth, piano, ondes Martenot), both work hard on separate side passions, but are also reuniting under their happy project The Smile. The drummer Tom Skinner, himself very active in the London jazz scene (in particular with the excellent group Sons of Kemet), is also on board this promising adventure that should push the boundaries of rock that little bit further.

Opening act: Robert Stillman

A creative genius in contemporary jazz, Robert Stillman and his many instruments create a hybrid, free, and elegant style of music.

Although not widely known, the talented American musician Robert Stillman has developed an unusual career over the last fifteen years, marked by his multiple instruments, his albums pushing the limits of jazz, and his collaborations with some of the most ambitious groups on the modern pop scene (Grizzly Bear, Here We Go Magic, and more recently, The Smile). His eighth album, What Does it Mean to Be American, which he painstakingly worked on in his Margate studio in England before releasing it at the start of this year, contains seven mostly instrumental tracks born of extended sessions of improvising and experimenting. Robert Stillman himself plays all the instruments on his tracks (brass, rhythm instruments, keyboards), freely weaving them together in a tapestry of jazz, minimalism and evanescent folk tied off with elegance.

← Back to the full line-up